Class B CDL

Free Consultation!

Contact Drivers Legal Plan for a free consultation.

Class B CDL Explained

Commercial driver's licenses are categorized into three types, dependent upon the type of vehicle the driver will be operating: Class A, Class B and Class C. Class A licenses cover the majority of tractor-trailer vehicles and heavy truck and trailer combinations. The gross combination weight rating (GVWR) of the vehicles in this category must be 26,000 pounds or more, with the trailer weight being heavier than 10,000 pounds.

Class B CDL licenses cover heavy single vehicles (a GVWR of more than 26,000 pounds) that are not hitched to trailers, but have an attached cab and cargo area, or a detached towed cargo vehicle that weighs less than 10,000 pounds. Examples of vehicles in the Class B CDL category include straight trucks, buses, box trucks, and dump trucks with small trailers. Drivers must be at least 18 years old to get a Class B CDL. Unlike with Class A CDLs, drivers with Class B CDLs are only allowed to drive within the state that issued the license. However, if you do not currently meet the CDL requirements to obtain a Class A CDL, starting with a Class B can be an excellent way to gain experience on the road until you are able to complete your CDL prep and qualify.

Another wise move as you begin your driving career – or even if you've been driving for years – is to make an affordable investment that could help you ensure your future in the truck driving industry: membership in Drivers Legal Plan. Our experienced CDL lawyers have helped more than 350,000 drivers all over the United States protect their driving records.

Protect Your Job, Protect Your CDL.

Call 1-800-417-3552